List of 27 Local Government Areas (LGA) in Borno State

27 Local Government Areas (LGA) in Borno State are shown. The listing of the 27 Local Government Areas in Borno State is given in this page. Borno State is located in the North Eastern part of Nigeria. The capital of Borno State is Maiduguri. The State is was found in 1976. Around 57799square km in area and population of around 4.2million from the 2006 census.

READ  List of Top Universities in Nigeria (NUC Approved)

The list of the various Local Governments that make up Borno State are given below:

27 Local Government Areas (LGA) Borno State

  1. Maiduguri
  2. Askira/Uba
  3. Abadam
  4. Ngala
  5. Bayo
  6. Gubio
  7. Kala/Balge
  8. Biu
  9. Guzamala
  10. Mafa
  11. Chibok
  12. Kaga
  13. Konduga
  14. Damboa
  15. Kukawa
  16. Bama
  17. Gwoza
  18. Magumeri
  19. Jere
  20. Hawul
  21. Marte
  22. Dikwa
  23. Kwaya Kusar
  24. Mobbar
  25. Shani
  26. Monguno
  27. Nganzai

List of other Local Government Areas in Nigeria are given in this link.

Borno State was formed in 3 February 1976. By the late Murtala Mohamed. Yobe State was carved out of Borno State in 1991.

READ  List of Federal Universities in Nigeria

Borno State is located in the North East part of Nigeria and occupies a great proportion of the Chad basin.

Borno State shares borders with countries like, the Republics of Niger to the North, Chad to the North East and Cameroun to the East.

In Nigeria Borno State shares boundaries with the like of Adamawa State to the South, Gombe State to the West and Yobe State to the North-West. The main economy of the State is through Agriculture.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *