List of 27 Local Government Areas in Imo State

List of 27 Local Government Areas in Imo State are given in this post below. Imo State is located in South Eastern part of Nigeria. And one of the major States of the region. The capital of Imo State is called Owerri. And Owerri State is one of the largest cities in Imo State. The mapping of Imo State, is such that it resembles a circle. Other major cities of the State, include the likes of Orlu, Mbaise, Okigwe and Oguta.

READ  List of Top Populated States in Nigeria

Imo State was created in 3 February, of 1976. The total land area of Imo State is 5530square kilometers. The total population of Imo State is put at 3.9 million people from the data of 2006 population census.

Imo State shares border with Abia State from the east, Delta State to the west side, Anambra State to the north side and Rivers State to the South part.

READ  List of Nigeria Colonial Head of State Before Independence

Imo State is also included amongst the Niger Delta State or Oil producing States in Nigeria. Though, it can not be compared with States, like Delta, in the South South Nigeria.

The major economy of the people of Imo State is through commerce and Agriculture. Notable Government Institutions in the State, include Imo State Polytechnic, Imo State University and Federal Polytechnic Nekede.

  1. Aboh Mbaise
  2. Ahiazu Mbaise
  3. Ehime Mbano
  4. Ezinihitte Mbaise
  5. Ideato North
  6. Ideato South
  7. Ihitte/Uboma
  8. Ikeduru
  9. Isiala Mbano
  10. Isu
  11. Mbaitoli
  12. Ngor Okpala
  13. Njaba
  14. Nkwerre
  15. Nwangele
  16. Obowo
  17. Oguta
  18. Ohaji/Egbema
  19. Okigwe
  20. Onuimo
  21. Orlu
  22. Orsu
  23. Oru East
  24. Oru West
  25. Owerri Municipal
  26. Owerri North
  27. Owerri West
READ  List of Local Government Areas (LGA's) in Nigeria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *