List of 8 Local Government Areas (LGA) in Bayelsa State

Listing of the the 8 Eighth Local Government Areas, LGA’s that make up Bayelsa State are given below:

List of 8 Local Government Areas in Bayelsa State

  • Brass
  • Ekeremor
  • Kolokuma/Opokuma
  • Nembe
  • Ogbia
  • Sagbama
  • Southern Ijaw
  • Yenagoa

Bayelsa State consist of 8 Eighth Local Government Areas in it. The capital of Bayelsa State is Yenagoa. The State is one of the top Oil producing States amongst the 36 States in Nigeria and also part of the Niger Delta States.

READ  List of Web Hosting Providers in Nigeria

Bayelsa State is also one of the smallest States in Nigeria and also one of the States with the highest GDP.

Bayelsa State is located in South South part of Nigeria. The State is also amongst the States in Nigeria located near the coast. The main languages spoken include, Bomu, Ijaw, Kolukuma, Mein, Nembe, Ogbia and Epie-Atisa.

Bayelsa State was created in October, 1, 1996 by late General Sani Abacha, Nigeria former Head of States from River States.

READ  List of 18 Local Government Areas in Ondo State

The name derivative, Bayelsa was formed from 3 major Local Government Areas in the region. Brass LGA (BALGA), Yenagoa (YELGA) and Sagbama (SALGA). Thus, the combined name BA+YEL+SA=BAYELSA.

The major resources of the State is Crude oil. Thereby making the State one of the top Oil exploration ground in Nigeria. There is very little commerce in the State aside local population that delve into subsistence fishing. Despite the crude oil resources in the State, the populace still complain of lack of development in the State.

READ  List of Nigeria Inspector General of Police (From 1938-Date)

The geography of Bayelsa is similar to a river like terrain. Such that settlements are suspended in water or surrounded by it. This makes some of the settlements inaccessible using road transport.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *