List of 21 Local Government Areas in Kogi State

List of 21 Local Government Areas in Kogi State are given in this page. Kogi State is located in North Central part of Nigeria. The State has the iron-ore deposit. Thus, the iron industry known as Ajaokuta Steel Industry is located in Kogi State.

Kogi State also has the two popular river confluence (meeting point) in Lokoja. The two rivers are the River Niger and River Benue. Kogi State slogan/nickname is called, the “Confluence State”, because of the two rivers.

READ  List of 16 Local Government Areas in Kwara State

The capital city of Kogi State is called Lokoja. Kogi State was created in 27, August of 1991. The State has a total land area of 29833 square kilometers. Kogi State has a total population of 3.3 million people going by the 2006 population census.

Notable higher institution of learning in Kogi State, include Kogi State University, Kogi State Polytechnic, Federal Polytechnic Idah and Salem University Lokoja.

List of 21 Local Government Areas in Kogi State

  1. Adavi
  2. Ajaokuta
  3. Ankpa
  4. Bassa
  5. Dekina
  6. Ibaji
  7. Idah
  8. Igalamela-Odolu
  9. Ijumu
  10. Kabba/Bunu
  11. Koton Karfe
  12. Lokoja
  13. Mopa Muro
  14. Ofu
  15. Ogori/Magongo
  16. Okehi
  17. Okene
  18. Olamaboro
  19. Omala
  20. Yagba East
  21. Yagba West
READ  List of Top Populated States in Nigeria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *