List of 6 Geo-Political Zones in Nigeria

List of Geo-Political Zones in Nigeria.

Listing of the 6 Geo-Political Zones in Nigeria is given in this post. Nigeria uses the Federal System of Government. And one of the most populous countries in West Africa.

Nigeria has 36 States in it. With People from all forms of live, Ethnic backgrounds, religion, Tribe, Languages, Believe system, Political Ideologies, Cultures and Aspirations.

All of the States in Nigeria are classified and put into one of the 6 Geo-Political Zones or regions of the Country. Namely, North Central, North West, North East, South West, South South and South East Nigeria.

Nigeria has 774 Local Government Areas (LGAs) inside it. With each of the Local Government Areas, LGAs having wards and sub-wards.

READ  List of States Created By Nigeria Past Head of States

North central part of Nigeria is located in the Northern side toward the central. Agriculture flourishes in this region. Worthy mentions are Niger State and Kogi States which are home of Hydro Electric Power station and the Ajaokuta Steel Industry respectively.

List of 6 Geo-Political Zones in Nigeria

South East part of Nigeria are known for their prominence in the commercial sector. Popular city, Aba is located in the South East part of Nigeria. A city where locally made items are developed and South South Nigeria are the oil rich regions. They are home to oil producing States in Nigeria.

READ  List of Federal Universities in Nigeria

List of Geo-Political Zones in Nigeria

North Central Nigeria :

  1. Abuja ( F.C.T )
  2. Benue State
  3. Kogi State
  4. Kwara State
  5. Nasarawa State
  6. Niger State
  7. Plateau State

North East Nigeria :

  1. Adamawa State
  2. Bauchi State
  3. Borno State
  4. Gombe State
  5. Taraba State
  6. Yobe State

North West Nigeria :

  1. Jigawa State
  2. Kaduna State
  3. Kano State
  4. Katsina State
  5. Kebbi State
  6. Sokoto State
  7. Zamfara State
READ  List of Top Populated States in Nigeria


South East Nigeria :

  1. Abia State
  2. Anambra State
  3. Ebonyi State
  4. Enugu State
  5. Imo State

South South Nigeria :

  1. Akwa Ibom State
  2. Bayelsa State
  3. Cross River State
  4. Delta State
  5. Edo State
  6. Rivers State

South West Nigeria :

  1. Ekiti State
  2. Lagos State
  3. Ogun State
  4. Ondo State
  5. Osun State
  6. Oyo State

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *