List of Federal Medical Centers in Nigeria

This post contains a list of all the Federal Medical Centers in Nigeria. Federal Medical centers are located almost in all States of the Nigeria Federation in a bid to boost the effictiveness of the health sector.

Federal Medical Centers abbreviated as FMC are thought in Nigeria to be Hospitals equipped with start of the art infrastructures in the health sector. FMC’s are often more equipped than traditional Government Hospitals owned by the State and are able to perform more complex medical challenges of patients.

In most cases, you often see private or small hospitals refer cases beyond their capacity to FMC’s across the Federation for better handling.

Without further ado, here is a complete list of all the Federal Medical Centers we have in the Nigeria clime:

  1. Federal Medical Centre, Bida Niger State.
  2. Federal Medical Centre, Ido Ekiti Ekiti State
  3. Federal Medical Centre, Jalingo Taraba State.
  4. Federal Medical Centre, Katsina  Katsina State.
  5. Federal Medical Centre, Keffi Nasarawa State.
  6. Federal Medical Centre, Lokoja Kogi State.
  7. Federal Medical Centre, Asaba Delta State.
  8. Federal Medical Centre, Abuja.
  9. Federal Medical Centre, Azare Bauchi State.
  10. Federal Medical Centre, Birnin Kebbi Kebbi State.
  11. Federal Medical Centre, Birnin Kudu Jigawa State.
  12. Federal Medical Centre, Makurdi Benue State.
  13. Federal Medical Centre, Umuahia Abia State.
  14. Federal Medical Centre, Yenagoa Bayelsa State
  15. Federal Medical Centre, Yola Adamawa State
  16. Federal Medical Centre, Abakaliki Ebonyi State.
  17. Federal Medical Centre, Nguru Yobe State.
  18. Federal Medical Centre, Owerri Imo State.
  19. Federal Medical Centre, Owo Ondo State.
  20. Federal Medical Centre, Ebute Meta Lagos State.
  21. Federal Medical Centre, Gombe, Gombe State.
  22. Federal Medical Centre, Gusau Zamfara State.
READ  List of South East Part of Nigeria States

A quick look at some of the Federal Medical Centers in Nigeria:

FMC Bida:

FMC (Federal Medical Center) Bida is located in Bida Local Government of Niger State. The Medical Center was established in April, 1997 by the administration of former Nigerian Head of State, General Sani Abacha.

Prior to the establishment of the health center in Bida. The center would have been established in Minna instead, which is the State’s capital. But, the influence of Dr Haliru N. Yahaya. Who was the Chairman of Primary Healthcare Development Agency. And also Dr. Shehu Sule, who was the permanent secretary in the Federal Ministry of Health influenced it to be situated in Bida instead.

READ  List of 52 Most Visited Websites in Nigeria

FMC Abeokuta:

Federal Medical Center (FMC) Abeokuta is located in Ogun State, Abeokuta. The center was established in 21 of April, 1983. Equipped with emergency departments to handle all kinds of medical cases. handles both public and general medicine, teaching of doctors and also research.

FMC Abuja:

Federal Medical center Abuja is situated in Nigeria’s capital city, Abuja. The center is located along airport road, Jabi, Abuja. Hospital is open 24 hours. They handle all kinds of cases, teaching of doctors as well as research too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *