List of Nigeria State Slogans Nickname

List of Nigeria States slogans or rather Nicknames identified to certain names in Nigeria are given in this post. State slogans/nicknames are often used as trademark of identifying a particular State.

There are 36 States in Nigeria. Divided into 6 Geo-political Zones. Each of the Nigerian States, have peculiar feature or characteristics that make them unique and different from others.

The general motto of Nigeria is Unity and Faith, Peace and Progress. Each State in Nigeria also have their nicknames or slogans for identification. It is important for a Nigerian citizens to know all the Nigeria States and some of their slogans/nicknames.

READ  List of 21 Local Government Areas in Kogi State

List of Nigeria State Slogans Nickname

The unique features and slogans of each State are given below:

List of Nigeria States Slogan/Nicknames:

  1. Abia Umuahia
    (God’s Own State)
    (Pride of our Nation)
  2. Adamawa Yola
    (Land of Beauty)
    (Sunshine and Hospitality)
  3. Akwa Ibom Uyo
    (Promised Land)
  4. Anambra Awka
    (Home For All)
    (Light of the nation)
  5. Bauchi Bauchi
    (Pearl of Tourism)
  6. Bayelsa Yenagoa
    (Glory of all Lands)
  7. Benue Makurdi
    (The Nigeria’s Food Basket)
  8. Borno Maiduguri
    (Home of Peace)
  9. Cross River Calabar
    (The Nation’s Paradise)
  10. Delta Asaba
    (The Big Heart)
  11. Ebonyi Abakaliki
    (Salt of the Nation)
  12. Edo Benin
    (The Heartbeat of the Nation)
  13. Ekiti Ado-Ekiti
    (Fountain of Knowledge)
  14. Enugu Enugu
    (Coal City State)
  15. Gombe Gombe
    (Jewel in the Savannah)
  16.  Imo Owerri
    (The Eastern Heartland)
  17. Jigawa Dutse
    (The New World)
  18. Kaduna Kaduna
    (Centre of Learning)
  19. Kano Kano
    (Centre of Commerce)
  20. Katsina Katsina
    (Home of Hospitality)
  21. Kebbi Birnin Kebbi
    (Land of Equity)
  22. Kogi Lokoja
    (The Confluence State)
  23. Kwara Ilorin
    (The Place of Harmony)
  24. Lagos Ikeja
    (Centre of Excellence)
  25. Nassarawa Lafia
    (Nigeria’s Home of Solid Minerals)
  26. Niger Minna
    (The Power State)
  27. Ogun Abeokuta
    (Gateway State)
  28. Ondo Akure
    (Sunshine State)
  29. Osun Osogbo
    (State of the Living Spring)
  30. Oyo Ibadan
    (Pace Setter)
  31. Plateau Jos
    (Home of Peace & Tourism)
  32. Rivers Port Harcourt
    (Treasure Base)
  33. Sokoto Sokoto
    (The Seat of the Caliphate)
  34. Taraba Jalingo
    (Nature’s Gift to the Nation)
  35. Yobe Damaturu
    (The Young Shall Grow)
  36. Zamfara Gusau
    (Home of Agricultural Products)
READ  List of 34 Local Government Areas in Katsina State

And lastly, the Federal Capital of Nigeria:

  • FCT Abuja
    (Center of Unity)
    (Federal Capital Territory)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *