List of Nigeria States and Capital Cities

The complete list of Nigeria States is given in this page. Alongside, their respective capital cities.

Many a times tourist or visitors and even citizens of Nigeria may find it some what not important to memorize all of the States capital in the country.

Especially since they have gone out the walls of primary institutions over many years where most students are expected to memorize them right from the elementary levels.

But working class people, visitors and tourist may find this post useful at some point. It provides a quick drop down list of the States and their respective capital cities.

Nigeria is divided into 6 geopolitical zones. The North Central, North East, North West, South West, South East and South South.

All of the 6 Zones contain 36 States in Total. With some States crafted out of the other to make up the present list.

The Political Zoning of Nigeria is given below:

North Central Nigeria:

  • Abuja ( F.C.T )
  • Benue State
  • Kogi State
  • Kwara State
  • Nasarawa State
  • Niger State
  • Plateau State
READ  List of 18 Local Government Areas in Edo State

North East Nigeria:

  • Adamawa State
  • Bauchi State
  • Borno State
  • Taraba State
  • Yobe State

North West Nigeria:

  • Jigawa State
  • Kaduna State
  • Kano State
  • Katsina State
  • Kebbi State
  • Sokoto State
  • Zamfara State

South East Nigeria:

  • Abia State
  • Anambra State
  • Ebonyi State
  • Enugu State
  • Imo State

South South Nigeria:

  • Akwa Ibom State
  • Bayelsa State
  • Cross River
  • Delta State
  • Edo State
  • Rivers State

South West Nigeria:

  • Lagos State
  •  Ekiti State
  • Ogun State
  • Ondo State
  • Osun State
  • Oyo State

Niger State is the largest State with land mass area. While Lagos and Kano are by far the most populated regions in the country.

Rivers State is one of the Oil producing States in the Country. Niger State is known for Hydro Power Stations. As it houses 3 popular Hydro Electric Station, The Kainji, Shiroro and Jebba Dam, thus, called the Power State.

Kogi State is known for abundance of iron ore which resulted in the creation of the Ajaokuta Steel Industry.

READ  List of Science Courses in University of Uyo (UNIUYO)

Nasarawa State is known as the land of solid minerals. Benue State is referred to as the Food Basket of the Nation. Kano State is the commercial hub in Northern Nigeria.

Lagos State is the Economic center of Nigeria. With Sea ports and most industries.

Abuja is the capital of Nigeria. Abuja is home to the Head Quarters of many Government Organization in Nigeria, like INEC. Abuja shares border with the likes of Niger State, Kaduna State and Kwara.

Borno State is referred to the Home of Peace, but as faced challenges over time with the development of the Bokoharam Insurgency in the region.

The description of the various States in Nigeria and their characteristics natural and human resources could go on forever.

Without further ado, let’s delve into the list of Nigeria States and their capitals.

The State and their corresponding capitals are given side by side. For example, the capital of Abia State is Umuahia. That of Adamawa State is Yola and Anambra Awka.

READ  List of Nigeria State Slogans Nickname

States  Capital City

  • Abia State  Umuahia
  • Adamawa State Yola
  • Akwa Ibom State Uyo
  • Anambra State Awka
  • Bauchi State Bauchi
  • Bayelsa State Yenagoa
  • Benue State Makurdi
  • Borno State Maiduguri
  • Cross River State Calabar
  • Delta State Asaba
  • Ebonyi State Abakaliki
  • Edo State Benin City
  • Ekiti State Ado-Ekiti
  • Enugu State Enugu
  • Federal Capital Territory Abuja
  • Gombe State Gombe
  • Imo State Owerri
  • Jigawa State Dutse
  • Kaduna State Kaduna
  • Kano State Kano
  • Katsina State Katsina
  • Kebbi State Birnin Kebbi
  • Kogi State Lokoja
  • Kwara State Ilorin
  • Lagos State Ikeja
  • Nasarawa State Lafia
  • Niger State Minna
  • Ogun State Abeokuta
  • Ondo State Akure
  • Osun State Oshogbo
  • Oyo State Ibadan
  • Plateau State Jos
  • Rivers State Port Harcourt
  • Sokoto State Sokoto
  • Taraba State Jalingo
  • Yobe State Damaturu
  • Zamfara State Gusau

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *