Senate President, Deputy Senate President & House of Reps Speaker [1960-Till Date]

Senate President, Deputy Senate President, House of Reps Speaker. This post a complete and comprehensive list of all the Nigeria Senate President from 1960 till date, Deputy(Vice) Senate President from 1999 till date and House of Representative Speakers from 1999 till date.

List of Senate President from 1960-Till Date:

  1. Nnamdi Azikiwe NCNC 1960
  2. Dennis Osadebay NCNC 1960-1963
  3. Nwafor Orizu NCNC 1963-1966
  4. Joseph Wayas NPN 1979-1983
  5. Iyorchia Ayu SDP 1992-1993
  6. Ameh Ebute SDP 1993
  7. Evan Enwerem PDP 1999-1999
  8. Chuba Okadigbo PDP 1999-2000
  9. Anyim Pius Anyim PDP 2000-2003
  10. Adolphus Wabara PDP 2003-2005
  11. Ken Nnamani PDP 2005-2007
  12. David Mark PDP 2007-2011
  13. David Mark PDP 2011-2015
  14. Bukola Saraki APC/PDP 2015-2019
  15. Ahmed Lawan APC 2019 till date
READ  List of 14 Local Government Areas in Zamfara State

Senate President, Deputy Senate President, House of Reps Speaker

from the list above we can quickly infer that the Senate has been around going back to the year 1960. But, from the inception of the Nigerian Democracy system in Nigeria in 1999. Under the ruler of one of the Nigeria past presidents, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, we can see that the first Senate President was Evan Enwerem of PDP (People Democratic Party).

Followed by Chuba Okadigbo of PDP from 1999 to 2000. The current Senate President is Ahmed Lawan of APC who took over Bukola Saraki of PDP in 2019.

Senator David Mark of the PDP party was one of the longest serving Senate President in Nigeria history. Serving from 2007 to 2015.

READ  List of 6 Local Government Areas in Abuja (FCT)

Deputy Senate Presidents from 1999 till date

  1. Ibrahim Mantu PDP 1999-2003
  2. Ibrahim Mantu PDP 2003-2007
  3. Ike Ekweremadu PDP 2007-2011
  4. Ike Ekweremadu PDP 2011-2015
  5. Ike Ekweremadu PDP 2015-2019
  6. Ovie Omo Agege APC 2019 till date

House of Representatives Speakers from 1999 till date

  1. Salisu Buhari PDP 1999-2000
  2. Ghali Umar Na’Abba PDP 2000-2003
  3. Aminu Bello Masari PDP 2003-2007
  4. Patricia Olubunmi Etteh PDP 2007-2007
  5. Dimeji Bankole PDP 2007-2011
  6. Aminu Tambuwal PDP 2011-2015
  7. Yakubu Dogara APC/PDP 2015-2019
  8. Femi Gbajabiamila APC till date

From the above listing of the Deputy Senate President and the House of Representatives Speakers from 1999 till date. We can see that the first Deputy Senate President in 1999 was Ibrahim Mantu of PDP(People’s Democratic Party), who served from 1999 to 2007.

READ  List of South South Part of Nigeria States

While Ike Ekweremadu of PDP(People’s Democratic Party) served from 2007 to 2015. The current Deputy/Vice Senate President is the person of Ovie Omo Agege of APC party, who was elected in 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *